More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

The significant increase in crime rate in the metropolis is a crucial reason why numerous authorities have been paying more attention to applying useful solutions to tackle this issue. Personally, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and the reasons will be explained below. There are several advantages that this trend brings. For one, one of the most currently popular security methods is surveillance cameras. There is no doubt that the widespread surveillance in public areas would considerably contribute to crime reduction by creating a fear for potential criminals that they will be caught by police officers quickly based on the automatic moving recording. As a result, it helps protect streets, and public areas safer and providetizens with a sense of safety and security. Besides, another security measure is the computerized data collection of individuals which helps the police investigate crime cases accurately and effectively. The data can be updated regularly to control terrorist attacks at megacities like New York or London thanks to the data and images from this system. Regarding the drawbacks of using various security methods to deter crimes. In fact, some people argue that their individual freedom is somehow violated because their daily activities have been observed by those devices continuously. Whether they are out on the street, hanging out with their loved ones at shopping malls, or at public events, images and videos of their face and movements will be recorded automatically and then sent to security organizations and will be analyzed if needed. Many people consider this a violation of privacy and are concerned about vital dangers if their personal data can go into the wrong hands. In short, there are definite advantages to using such security measures. We need to balance, however, the demand for security with the entire respect for an individual's privacy and freedom. If we can control this concern well then, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.