Nowadays some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

‘Do you like going to the museum or galleries?’ With the technological advancement, people can view artworks, historical relics and other exhibitions online at any time. Some argue that public museums and art galleries will be out of the picture sooner or later, since the public no longer needs them. However, I believe that there are still big differences between the real object and the digital one. Moreover, the atmosphere in the museum cannot be easily replaced. It is understandable to some extent why some people think that museums will soon be replaced by online exhibitions. To start with, viewing artwork online is more time-saving, convenient and cheaper. People don’t need to visit Paris to see the famous ‘Monalisa’, they can even save up the plane ticket. In addition, by using the computer, the audience can see the historical object from every side, with no need to worry about being blocked by others. Overall, virtual art galleries are beneficial for those who are busy and don’t have enough budget. However, paying a real visit to the museum can gain more than seeing relics on the screen. First, famous paintings and sculptures are often made of precious materials that look different from various angles. For example, the well-known ‘Cabbage’ from National Palace Museum shines differently under multiple angles of sunlight. The changes of colours can only be noticed on the real object, it is hard to capture it by cameras. Secondly, people cannot feel the atmosphere and feel the smell and air in the building. In my opinion, I always enjoy emerging myself in the tranquil atmosphere of the museum, it makes me more focused on the artwork and feels refreshed after the visit. Therefore, actually going to the museums and art galleries is worth more since people enjoy more and learn deeper about the artworks. In conclusion, though seeing historical objects online are cheaper and time-saving, visiting the actual place gives you a well-rounded experience and in-depth knowledge of the exhibitions.