Students in university education should develop specialists in one subject area rather than create a broader range of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that instead of disciplining students as versatile, universities ought to improve them in a particular field in order to be experts. I mostly agree with this suggestion, because many sectors in the society need specialists and too much subjects in university studies prevents to understand fundamental information in a certain branch. Firstly, in recent years, demanding of experts has increased in the business life because definition of occupations has been changed and varied. Companies are seeking employees for their elaborate described positions rather than generalized job definitions. For instance, mechanical engineers could assume many responsibilities in factories which produce vehicles in the past. Now, many works have branched in favour of rapid production and sustainability such as automotive engineers, industrial engineers and designers. Apart from this, many research and innovations can improve better with experts due to their vast knowledge in particular field. Software developments can be counted as examples in this case. Shortly, being specialist is more precious than being versatile. Secondly, learning diversity of information does not mean a better education and studying broader range of subjects may give negative effects to students in their education. They may lose their focal points in their studies due to abundance of topics. In the end of their education life, they may not be sure themselves and forget their main aims. To illustrate that, many common subjects such as some history courses in science facilities are redundant and they forbid students to focus their main studies. In addition, these unnecessary courses may lead to extend their school life with a probable failure in examination. Thus, universities opt to develop specialists rather than varied informed students. In conclusion, causes and examples can be multiplied with this suggestion. Although, graduated with versatile information may present some opportunities to students, in my opinion, expert graduates far better for society due to their defined contributions in work life and their extract knowledge. 57 dk