Nowadays, many people change jobs quite regularly, rather than working in one company for their entire careers. Why do you think this is happening? How can companies keep their workers?

People are less committed as they once were to the companies that employ them. In comparison to the older generations, the phenomenon of switching jobs regularly has slowly become a norm, as compared to working in one company until retirement. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this occurence and explain how companies can increase employee retention. The main reason this is happening is due to workers nowadays are relatively financial stable compared to previous generations so they can change jobs without having dire consequences on their finances. As the world economy is constantly on the rise, people are more well-off and have better living standards, income is no longer the primary reason people look for a job. There are a few other considerations that comes into mind when selecting a job, for example, having a healthy work-life balance and working in a supportive and enjoyable environment. These are the main reason I believe why people are switching jobs on a regular basis. However, I believe companies can increase employee retention by instilling purpose and meaning in their work. Companies should find ways to make the job interesting and appealing at the firm. Therefore, workers can feel immensely gratified when they have managed to complete their responsibilities after a long day at work. For example, with vague goals and tedious tasks set by the employer, employees may feel demotivated and lost, resulting in them leaving the company. Hence, by instilling purpose and meaning, employee retention rate would see a surge eventually. As a conclusion, since, income is no longer the main factor for working, companies should try to think creatively on ways to instil objective and direction in the workplace in order to reduce employees from leaving.