Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undeniable that many people believe that the making a habit of reading books in their spare time will help their mind to be in active mode. However, watching movies and television can cause a person to become lazy in their life. I strongly agree to this notion and explain in further paragraphs with suitable examples. To commence with the reasons that why reading books makes a person to be active in life. Firstly, acquring a habit of reading books in the leisure time makes to get connected with the lines written by the writter, reader tries to imagine the situation in the reality, thereby it improves the capacity. Secondly, it also helps person to think in a board minded and helps to know about the different cultures,morals in stories, and also improves communication skills. For instance, parents read the story book to their offsprings in order to create a good environment in life, they teach the lessons and morals in the books to their children so that their kids move in a good path. Therefore, reading books makes people to get more knowledge and also active mind. On the other hand, watching films and television may cause them more lazy in their life. The main reasons involves movies and shows in TV may lasts for more than one hour which means watching for longer time is not healthy and makes the person to feel inactive. Seeing TV for longer duration may cause eye problems in all the age groups. To exemplify, in this modern era many people are addicted to laptops, mobiles and they are least bother about to improve their vocabulary to improve their communication skills. However, reading books helps to overcome these problems. In conculsion, I profoundly believe that the forementioned points are justifing justified that reading books is one of the prerequstie prerequisites for the overall development of children and this must be acquired in their habits at the early stages so that they move in a good path in future, whereas watching movies and TV causes various problems.