Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the topic that encourages humans to stop protecting animals because they have no value to us has sparked great controversy. Although people who agree have their own justification, I hold a completely different view for a number of reasons. To begin, every creature living in the wild plays a pivotal role in the medical field. Given that many wild species have their self-medication thanks to their daily diet, they can be helpful subjects for scientists to go for further research in inventing medicines for our kind. For example, by observing elephants eating clay, scientists found out that clay can detoxify toxins from certain fruits they eat. With further research, we have many appropriate products made from clay for several medical conditions namely tablets, cosmetics, facial masks, etc. Another reason that should be taken into consideration is every creature in this world connects to each other and helps balance the ecology. Even though we are considered at the top of the food chain, it does not mean this planet belongs to only our kind. Therefore, it is such an absurdity that we have the privilege to allow the extinction of any species. Let alone, if we let these animals die out, it would upset the ecology and cause severe consequences to the Earth and to humanity such as natural disasters, depletion of food sources, etc. That being said only makes us cost more to protect our planet from these horrible scenarios. In conclusion, for all the above-mentioned reasons, I believe that humans have no right to decide which animals should be protected or not. Moreover, every species plays an indispensable part in this century and we should make our best effort to protect the ecological diversity.