Should private schools receive government funding? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that the government should allocate larger sums of funds for the education budget and provide monetary support for public schools. Moreover, in my,opinion private schools do not require assistance from the state for funding. This essay will discuss why government funds should be limited to public schools. First of all, private schools have regular cash inflows, which support operating costs incurred by the education centre. In addition, they charge large deposits and higher term fees from the parents to provide quality education for their children. For instance, a survey shows, in Sri Lanka parents spend an average of quarter million rupees on school deposits. On the other hand, public education centres do not receive such funding from parents and provide free education as well. Thus, it is essential for the government to inject funds into public schools in order for the kids to have better futures. Secondly, it is important for children to be a part of extra-curricular activities. However, students who attend public schools lack the opportunity to be a part of such activities, due to insufficient investment in the curriculum. Private schools are often preferred by wealthy families. Whereas, families who cannot afford expensive education send their kids to public schools. For example, in,India youngsters who attend public schools in rural areas do not get to explore their interest in sports. Hence, the government should spend an adequate amount of money on supporting public schools to discover more talents. In conclusion, private schools have the privilege of receiving monetary support from parents and other sources. However, public schools have only one source, which is the state. Thus, government funding should be limited to public schools.