‏Every year thousands of students go overseas to study. Although many benefit from the experience, others go home disappointed. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying in another country?

Study abroad is always considered as a dream to everyone. It is often argued that study overseas have more cons compared to the pros. However, as to whether it is a blessing or curse, there arises a heated debate among people. As far as I’m concerned, I truly feel that study abroad indeed allow graduates to receive a higher job opportunity but it’s drawbacks shouldn’t be denied. Firstly, students manage to improve their knowledge by exposing to different types of cultures in that country. Not only this, but also student gains a crucial opportunity to learn a new type of foreign language. Learning a new language is not always a bad idea as it might be useful in the future workplace. Moving forward, it is understandable that most of the prestigious universities are in overseas. So, the students will receive a higher qualification tertiary study and eventually open a new door to secure the job that with a higher wage and welfare in the future. Although study abroad contains multifold advantages, but it’s drawbacks shouldn’t be denied. A common criticism is that students might have the chances to develop homesickness because of missing with their family members. Besides that, it has also been proven that the cost of living in a different country is way higher compared to our own country and this will create a burden towards the families and the students. For example, international students would apply to work as a part-timer in order to mitigate the cost of living and sometimes it will lead to an in-cooperate with their own study. Lastly, some international students have even reported that they did face difficulty when communicating with the local people due to the discrepancy between the culture and language background. In conclusion, despite the drawbacks of studying abroad, but I personally believe that study in overseas will improve the student’s qualification profile unfortunately financial is one of the main concerns by every family.