‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss.

Migration is increasing in today's world. It is often said that being familiar with the country’s past and culture where one is shifting plays a crucial role. The essay will discuss the merits of the same. Firstly, the people who travel abroad face numerous problems due to the insufficient knowledge of the area they will reside. These issues could be avoided if one is familiar with the country’s background, particularly in regard to government perks. In Canada, for instance, some newcomers deal with problems applying for a basic health card considering the medical expenses are extremely high but could be relieved if one has a health card. This is only possible if the people learn about these perquisite or the past of the country. Lack of knowledge about certain facts can be challenging when settling in aforeign country. Secondly, the new residents often dealt cultural gaps with locals. As a result, they may have difficulty connecting with the local community. These situations often lead to isolation and difficulties in making the new home a permanent residence. If newcomers are aware of cultural events, they have more opportunities to connect with the diverse society and become more involved in the community. For instance, on republic day of America, the entire public gathers on the street to enjoy the national parade and appreciate the American history and legacy which is a great way to connect with others. If immigrants do not take part in such national celebrations they can often consider not part of society. In conclusion, foreigners should know the background of the country they will be living in, so that the initial struggle will be easy as they will not face problems in accessing benefits available to the public. Also, they can become a part of the local community without facing the gaps which are usually faced by the people going to live abroad.