Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

Happiness is a much sought-after emotion and some people claim that being wealthy is the best way to achieve enjoyment. Although I would agree that money certainly contributes to pleasure, I think true jubilation can be found elsewhere. Nevertheless, the role of wealth should not be underestimated. Firstly, having a lot of money allows people to have desirable possessions and experiences. Whether it is fashionable clothes, a new car or the latest cutting-edge technology, these items can bring joy as they allow people to feel good about themselves or indulge in their passions. Likewise, travelling and eating out are experiences that many people would now consider essential for a fulfilling life. Secondly, money also gives people freedom in their lives. For example, they can move to a more desirable place to live to improve their quality of life and thus happiness. Furthermore, they may be able to work, or even volunteer, in a field that they are passionate about but which does not pay well. However, while wealth can bring pleasure, there are simpler ways of achieving contentment. Quite often, living a simple lifestyle can be pleasurable. If someone can meet the essentials of life, they may eschew materialism. Enjoying the company of friends and family or going for a walk in the countryside can be more enjoyable than the latest gadget or restaurant. Another way to be happy is by helping other societies. Whether it is doing charity work or merely doing good deeds throughout the day, such as holding a door open for someone, knowing you have contributed to the ebullience of others can be very satisfying. Overall, a certain amount of bucks is needed to be happy, but this should not be a gauge of satisfaction and people should try to engage more with each other and enjoy the simple things in life instead.