Some people think that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play important roles. Discuss both views.

Some argue that digital books will be dominant as all written data can be stored in the digital format, while others insist printed books will keep playing an important role. Although the latter point seems to be persuasive, I largely stand on the point that lightweight devices with limitless functionalities will soon be more prevalent. Those who like the printed books emphasize that the paper books have their own attractiveness that makes many customers still visit the traditional bookstores. According to the customers, they like the sense that paper gives when they turn the pages, and their eyes become exhausted when reading a digital book for a long time due to LED light. However, I believe that such problems have been solved since technology has been so developed that can emulate printed books. For example, e-book devices such as Kindle or iPad have low- light function to minimize the damage to the eyes, and the screen films that can completely mimic the feeling of paper are prevalent in the market. Moreover, the digital books will be more dominated as they are more portable. Nowadays many schools guide students to bring electronic devices such as tablets or laptops for their class instead of books. Since the majority of the school materials are shared in the digital formats, students do not need to bring a bunch of heavy books for their way to school and home. This is coupled with enhanced contents from the e- books. The digital books can offer not only letters, but also additional visual and sound effects. For instance, recent digital books contain related videos or sounds in every page, and some even have Virtual Reality system. These kinds of contents make readers be more satisfied, and cannot be mimicked by printed books. In conclusion, though the printed books have unique attractiveness, I believe the digital books can cover it, and are more portable and gives enhanced contents.