In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness is decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them

People around the world are witnessing adverse health issues in which they gain weight and decline in physical wellness. This essay will point out several reasons for this phenomenon as well as suggest possible actions to tackle it. Firstly, one of the main culprits of people gaining excessive weight is the fact that their calorie intake is much higher than they can burn. In other words, people are eating too much high-calorie food while participating in too little physical activity. Thanks to the advancement of technology, daily activities such as commuting and working can be done much faster and are way less physically demanding. However, they make humans become accustomed to the sedentary lifestyle and only sit in one place during the day without having to use their muscles. In addition, the emergence of fast food and processed food also causes people to gain weight because they are tastier but are in fact less nutritious than whole foods. As a consequence, the lack of physical activities along with the humongous consumption of processed food is what leads to the alarming decline in the well-being of individuals. In order to counter such problems, effective measures should be made. That is, governments should encourage people to work out more often as well as spend less on eating junk food. Regarding the first method, this can be done by implementing fitness instruments such as pullup bars, double bars and curling machines in open spaces such as parks or playgrounds. Since most people such as children or the elderly can not afford to go to the gym, doing so would make it easier for them to engage in body training without having to worry about their financial status. Alongside that, governments should imply critical policies to prevent fast food from being too convenient for consumers. For example, they can impose heavy taxes on fast food companies along with lowering the prices of healthy, organic food such as vegetables, fruits and meat so that people will be more willing to eat healthy. In the long run, these solutions will help many people in various age groups to be in shape as well as maintain their overall wellness. In conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle and the consumption of processed food may account for the increase in average weight and decrease in body strength among individuals across countries. To solve this dilemma, the authorities can provide public places with fitness instruments to improve citizens’ fitness and discourage fast food sales so that people can switch to more beneficial foods.