Some people think that old people should not be forced by law to retire at a certain age if they wish to continue working To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increase in life expectancy and better health conditions can lead people to work longer than before. However, conventional labour acts of many countries have failed to keep up with these changes; so many people still have to leave their jobs after a certain age. I strongly agree that the law should not determine when to retire if people wish to work, for the law is impractical and outdated. To begin with, the labour act has failed to reflect recent trends in the modern labour market. As is known to all, it has not changed at all for over 100 years, whereas the quality of people ’s life has been getting better and their health condition has been greatly improved as well, so, this mismatch is such an unrealistic situation. Many old retired people in Korea, for example, unlike their parents’ generations, can still have the power and will to work over 60 years old because they can get sufficient nutrition and can sustain health stamina due to the development of high-level medical advances. Considering these changes, the labour act has to be revised to adapt to recent development. On top of that, there can be more to worry about with regard to mandatory retirement. First, the decrease in the birth rate has caused a lack of workers and mandatory retirement will accelerate this trend. Many corporations can not find proper employees. Second, the tax burden can skyrocket due to the deficit of working people. The demand for welfare is so strong that the government can not reduce the tax ratio for young generations working in the field. However, since old people over 60 have to retire continuously due to the conventional labour act, the government have to rise the amount of tax on a person. This circulation can be a vicious circle of the economy in every country. To conclude, I agree that people have to be free to choose when to retire because the traditional labour act can not reflect modern trends and can cause more serious problems.