Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important. Discuss both views

it is considered by some people that holding animals in menageries is not appropriate while others say that zoos provide huge types of entertainment and are of ecological value. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, a zoo is a popular place of visiting for many people, especially for parents with children, and its entertaining programs like a dolphin show or riding an elephant attract even more public interest and consequently cash flow and advertising possibilities. As a result, it brings investment which facilitates zoos to fund their own research programs and to save species under the threat of extension. For example, Moscow's central zoo is one of the most overcrowded places in the city and thus a successful business itself, and it regularly reports about its progress like a newborn of a very rare species or saving another endangered animal or bird. On the other hand, animals in most menageries are kept in cramped cages, with very little space to move. That leads them to become distressed and deprived of significant physical exercise, making them weaker and, overall, conditions even poorer. Just imagine a lion in a very tiny enclosure who is able only to pace up and down or an eagle who is unable to fly. What impressions will you and your children have after watching them in such conditions? In conclusion, although zoos play both ecological and entertainment roles the suffering of animals makes them to be inappropriate in modern society and in my opinion, they must be abolished