In some countries , the government promote public transportation and discourage the private vehicles what are the advantage and disadvantages?

In many countries, communting by public transport is encouraged than driving personal cars. There are both negative and positive impacts to this matter. This essay will discuss both sides of the coin. To begin, one of the benefits of using buses is that it reduces the noise pollution that is being experienced on most busy roads. As early as 4 AM, the noise caused by motorists wake up resisdents residing along side the road. For example, living in areas close to motorways is a nightmare. People do not get to have enough rest because of the constant noise by motorists. Using buses will save those living in those busy areas by having time intervals between buses. The secondly, it reduces the traffic jam. Driving in the morning has become unbearable, it can take up an hour to get to an area where if not so many cars it would only take about half an hour. Residents need to plan ahead to avoid the congestion. Therefore, the use of public transport lessens the number of cars on roads, reduces the noise and makes travelling smooth. On the other hand, restricting people to using one kind of trasnsport limits their freedom and comfort. The commuter will have to rush in order to catch the train at a particular time. As a result, the trains become so crowded because there are hundreds of people trying to catch the same train. This causes discomfort in some people that they find it hard to cope. In addition, using public transport is becoming more expensive. The commuters are required to pay full fares including tax. This is expensive compared to using private transport. However, for these two reasons, it is better for people to own a car. In conclusion, discouraging the use of private transport has both drawbacks and advatanges. The use of public transport will reduce traffic congestion and noise pollution. However, people consequently suffers the rise in expenses and discomfort.