The best way to solve traffic and transportation problem is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs and country sides. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that living in urban areas enables the citizen to be free from traffic congestion and other transport issue. From my perspective, it seems absurd since most cities are already suffering from insufficiency of public transportation due to their dense population. To begin with, those in favour of residing in cities claim that it can alleviate all sorts of traffic problems. Firstly, cities are usually well-equipped with transport infrastructure such as express trains, local buses and underground systems. Thus, the residents can easily access these public facilities. Secondly, some governments consider the regulations related to urban transportation issues as their priority. For instance, the interval times between the means of public transport can be more frequent throughout the cities, and a reduction in travelling fares are feasible incentives to encourage citizens to use it more often. Therefore, it leads to a positive effect on solving traffic jams as they will not drive their own vehicles often. On the other hand, there are some persuasive reasons why residents should not be forced to live only in urban areas. First of all, there is a high possibility of imbalanced development between cities and the countryside. Advancement in transport technology is mostly available city centre, whereas rural areas lack transport. In other words, people tend to leave the countryside owing to the inconvenience of their commuting, so the density of the population in cities is sharply increased instead. Moreover, environmental issues can arise in cities with overcrowded citizens such as carbon dioxide emissions from vehicles on the roads. As a result, it will worsen the air pollution problem which damages the public’s health such as asthma. In conclusion, solving traffic and transportation issues must take into consideration at a national level, and living in urban areas for that is only a temporary measure for the public. Hence, governments should come up with proper actions to tackle the issues.