The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place among our modern lifestyles? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

Artists, musicians and actors are perceived as people of importance in our society. Every aspect of our lives and activities can be described as the arts and these contribute to making life liveable and should be introduced into school calendars to help discover young talents early in life. The arts have always been a vital part of human rights from the existence of man on earth. Today's world is no different as our lives are encompassed in the arts and these are great sources of livelihood to some talented people. Beautiful paintings, songs and movies are all part of our daily lives. It is very common to see people making out time to visit art galleries to see and purchase fine drawings. This could also be an avenue for meeting people and exchanging ideas on these fine images. Although the theatre is similar to the art galleries, it is a place of entertainment and relaxation. For example, people usually go to the cinema with family members and friends to relax and watch trending movies. In addition, music is not only for pleasure but also therapeutic to a lot of individuals in our society today. Attending shows to listen to good music and watch performing artists is also very enjoyable. Involving the arts in school programmes will be valuable especially when introduced early. Pupils in kindergartens and primary schools learn faster with colours, singing nursery rhymes and via visuals. It is a known fact that what we listen to and see including motion pictures stick to the brain and are often remembered. However, the age and cognitive development of the students should be considered when using these approaches. Furthermore, talented and skilled persons can be recognized through this medium. In conclusion, colourful diagrams, songs and acting are still very much parts of the modern world and including them in the various levels of learning Institutions is highly valuable.