Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subject which are useful in future like science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Academic education and choosing a suitable major have a vital role in youngsters ‘ future. There are two opposite camps regarding this issue. The first group opines that children should choose any subjects they like and the second group does not believe in this way and children ’s future career chooses their field of study in university for them. In this,essay I will discuss both these views and explain why the combination of these two notions is a better way. On one hand, people who believe that learning should be based on student’s tastes have more trust in their child’s choices. They say that offspring should be supported and guided by their parents in choosing whatever they want to do and study in the future. For instance, when a child is interested in art, his family can show the future careers of this major to their young one to choose more wisely. It can be seen in evidence that the more helpful families are, the more children will evolve in future. On the other hand, the opposite group does not believe in this freedom. They always insist on taking courses which will be useful in the next decades and cannot endure children choosing their own majors such as music, painting and sculpturing. They opine that there is no money for these subjects and they can be studied along with the main major. Thus, some majors such as engineering, science and technology are introduced as an integral part of people’s lives and they should be learned. I believe the combination of these both views would be a better way. However, there are a number of academic advisers who give wise ideas that can help families and children to choose the best options. For example, if a child likes art and their parents want that child to study science, some interdisciplinary courses such as visual communication science are presented by these advisers. In conclusion, strict families can misguide their kids; because if they do not like the major that the family opted, they can never be a successful person in that field of study in the next years.