Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, extreme usage of manufacturing plastic bottles and other packaging materials is impacting the health of our planet. The use of plastic is one of the biggest reasons behind the rise in pollution. The governments and the public must work together to find out a solution to this complex situation. Firstly, Plastic is a product which does not get recycled and does not get decompose, thus it always stays on the earth. Moreover, the oceans are getting flooded with plastic bottles and the number of waste is increasing day by day. For instance, a survey was conducted by UNESCO in 2019 to check the presence of waste material on the planet, and the results were terrifying. On the other hand, to decrease the utilization of plastic -related products, governments must take initiatives to limit their usage. To cite an example, Initiatives can be taken to run campaigns and youth can participate as volunteers to become the voice to widespread the knowledge of decreasing plastic usage. Secondly, raw materials used in the production of moulded items could be harmful to people to consume. To elaborate, while in the process of,development such bottles do not qualify for the quality check process because of the low-quality raw materials pushed at the time of making the product. In such a situation, keen steps must be adapted such as decreasing the production of plastic materials or limiting the number of plants producing such goods which are not environmentally friendly. To cite an example, In the UK in 2010 a complete ban was requested by the society against chemical plants that were releasing harmful gases which are toxic to human health, and the results were in the favour of the public. Similarly, such steps taken can pressurise the stakeholders and will eventually bring down production. To conclude, switching glass bottles with plastic ones followed by natural ways of packaging is required to minimise the use of ductile produce. In addition, aggressive campaigning and actions taken against such manufacturers can limit the process of developing the harmful element. However, the government and the people must unite to achieve success in this initiative.