Many people believe that formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

In most countries across the world, the examination is the most prevalent method to evaluate students ’ abilities, whereas, plenty of people object to this viewpoint. This essay will indicate my view of this issue. To begin with, traditional examinations can specifically reflect a student’s knowledge and understanding capability through a range of tasks, namely theoretical and practical questions. The variety of tasks in formal exams will create great opportunities for pupils to show their calibre in the fairest way. To exemplify, It is clear that students having good comprehension can perform well in exams, in contrast, someone who does not struggle to complete the exams will fall behind in their studies. Thus, there is no doubt that this method is the most effective way to assess how much students understand lessons. On the other hand, a short time limit of formal paper exams can induce anxiety for students. For instance, absolutely excellent although some intellectuals get in trouble with calming down in important circumstances. In other words, people excelling in aspects of the curriculum gain bad results because of nervousness, not lack of knowledge. Moreover, pen and paper examinations can be predicted by daily normal studying, which makes learners cram theoretical knowledge without a real gasp. To specify, students who are good at rote learning can get high scores, nevertheless, they will forget what they learned after that on account of not understanding about lessons. Hence, although traditional paper tests can significantly judge students ’ comprehension in certain categories, they have many limitations. To summarize, the traditional written examination is merely one of the most efficient ways to assess learners’ capabilities besides numerous other useful methods, however, it still brings some adverse for students.