In recent years,many Small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In today's era, for shopping, consumers prefer to visit big shopping malls owing to the number of domestic vendor shops being shut down. In my opinion, it is a negative development. I will articulate the negative effects with a plausible explanation. To begin with, domestic shopkeepers will run out of business as people are moving to the large shopping complexes. For example, In India most individuals are moving to big shopping stores such as Big Bazaar, Reliance and many more for groceries shopping which results in many local small groceries store are going to be closed as they do not have enough customers to sell and this leads to another destructive effect that is the local business owner will turn to these international chains which could have severe repercussions on the internal market. Additionally, this situation will lead to long-term consequences such as unemployment and poverty among the population. Firstly, a lot of smallholders will lose their revenue from their stores which could afflict many families and make them lie below the poverty line. Secondly, shut down of these local shops will lead to thousands of unemployed citizens which creates an additional challenge for the government. To conclude, preserving a small business which includes groceries and local markets is very essential for internal business. I believe authorities should regulate global markets and diminish their powerful impact on the local economy.