Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent bursts of the pandemic around the world forced educational institutions to shift to unconventional modes of study. While students were not able to visit their schools and universities, there have been made numerous innovations in the field of online education, which led to the emergence of such platforms as Zoom and Google Meet. But despite technological advancements that improve the quality of online classes, I believe that face-to-face study remains the most prevalent and efficient form of education. One of the most evident drawbacks of online classes is that they lack the amount of interaction between students and instructors. Distance-based study applications like Zoom do not provide the real feel of a classroom like physical lessons do, causing students to lose contact with their teachers. Even when an online study platform provides a large set of tools to recreate a real classroom atmosphere, such as the possibility to ask questions and real-time video, most classes are conducted in a lecture form, instructor being the only active participant during the entire session. In contrast, in-person lessons do not inhibit student-teacher interaction and encourage a fair level of involvement of all students in the class. The absence of control of students during online sessions is another problem of distance-learning courses. Many students do not feel a sense of responsibility during online lectures since they are not under the eyes of instructors. As a result, pupils occasionally miss their classes or involve in other activities during their lessons. For example, they may play video games while their class is being conducted in the background. In the long term, insufficiency of control leads to students not achieving a supposed level of knowledge. In a nutshell, although distance-learning technologies are evolving with time, I would argue that they will never be able to deliver the same quality of education as conventional forms of study do.