Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Computers are claimed to be the major invention in the recent centuries. This essay completely agrees with this opinion because they allow people to compute a bigger range of data and they have become the main tools to support the development of other fields. First and foremost, after the computer was invented, people could calculate more data in an unprecedented way. Before that, individuals had limited ability to process data due to the capacity of the existing tools, hence the analysis and the interpretation of data took months. After the emergence of this device, a bigger amount of data could be handled and the speed of the calculation increased. Computers helped a lot in formulating the results of the research. For example, back in the early 19s, scientists who conducted a calculation on the energy needed to launch a rocket required months to get the final calculation. Conversely, nowadays it only takes hours to generate the result. In addition, the introduction of computers allows the development of data analysis which is widely used for analysis tools to support business decisions. Some business decisions will be more accurate if they are backed up with supporting data. This practice enables industries to have a better approach based on the real data. For instance, the Shopee marketing team tracks the traffic to define their users' behaviour and decide on campaigns that will jack up their sales. Shopee has millions of users which will be impossible to analyze unless they use computers to process the information. This start-up company can design personalized promotional offers based on users’ buying behaviour, therefore the campaign will be more effective.