In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Over the course of the last decades, thanks to advancements in medicine, life expectancy has increased significantly. However, this trend has also brought about some challenges, such as high healthcare demand and labour shortage, that should be addressed with the joint effort of both local people and governments. Admittedly, ageing population has fueled some serious issues in many countries. First and foremost, the high expenses of taking care of an old person, impose high pressure on the economy of the country. In other words, the elderly require more medical attention and healthcare facilities, like hospitals and rehabilitations, which means that states have to invest more money in the healthcare system. Moreover, a lack of employable population can extremely affect the productivity and economic growth of a country. Take Swiss as an example, when senior jobholders retire, the number of young candidates is so low that sometimes one employee has to work in various positions. Nevertheless, there are some measures that can mitigate the negative impacts of ageing population. Initially, individuals should be more careful with their choices so as to avoid diseases. Not only should everyone compromise an active lifestyle, but also they have to visit a doctor regularly to have annual checkups and tests. Moreover, governments should encourage the young generation to get married and have babies by providing financial aid to newly married couples. In 2000, the government of Japan introduced a new law that all the basic expenses of a child like food, education and clothes will be fully covered, in a five-year period, its population increased by 3%. In summary, although in developed countries, average life expectancy is increasing, ageing population causes some negative impacts on ordinary people and society. In order to alleviate these side effects, citizens should live a healthier life and governors have to support them for having more kids.