Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is often said that occupation including health specialists and engineers should perform their jobs in the nations where they receive their qualifications. In my opinion, however, I believe that they should be encouraged to work overseas. On the one hand, one of the evident reasons why advanced-skill individuals should not move out of their countries is that a severe brain drain might occur. It can be explained by the fact that a vast majority of doctors and engineers are funded by their governments to study so that they can come back to work after their graduation to generate profits for the country. However, if these skilled workers choose to perform in areas outside their local regions, the country’s economy is harmed due to the shortage of these valuable people. On the other hand, I would argue that medical practitioners and engineers have the right to choose where to work. To be more specific, working in another country can enable people to acquire more skills and experience. A good example of this is Vietnam. Compared to industrialized countries, education in Vietnam is not as highly appreciated as in Canada or Australia, particularly in high-level training. For that reason, moving out of Vietnam to work abroad plays a pivotal role in career development because employees have a chance to learn the most up-to-date knowledge. This will therefore make their CV stand out when they come back and increase their competitive advantages to negotiate the salary. In conclusion, moving out of home countries has a detrimental effect on its economy but highly qualified people can be more professional in their jobs.