Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge be levied for admittance? What is your opinion?

To begin, nowadays the entrants are charged in some museums and art galleries while in others, the entrance is completely free. According to my point of view, I think people should be charged a fair entrance fee in such public places. First and foremost, most of the time, public museums and art galleries are maintained by the government. Therefore, a significant amount of money will be needed to maintain such places up to the preferred standard. For instance, in some museums, free entry only grants access to more general sections and a fixed-priced ticket need to be taken in order to look at more important or special structures. Moreover, this will add more value to the place when an entrance ticket is taken. This could be either a permanent amount or a voluntary charge. On the other hand, some people say that, such public areas should be completely free of charge. Although, this could be true as arts should be freely available for everyone to enjoy despite their economic situation. Also, the value and respect for such places might get decreased as a result of not charging any amount of money from people. Also, as museums and art galleries are maintained mostly with public money, it will be difficult to keep washrooms or cafes accordingly without getting any funds from the guests. In conclusion, I believe that, public places like museums and galleries should charge a fair entrance fee to the visitors for the betterment of the organization. Furthermore, this will help in its further developments and improvements benefiting the guests in return.