We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in businesses, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used for in the future? Is this dependence on computers a good thing or should we be more suspicious of their benefits?

In modern days, It is an irrefutable fact that computers have evolved in history and made our lives more comfortable. However, complete dependence on automated functions may cause risks to human beings. Personally, people shouldn’t rely on computers completely and should make decisions by themselves. To begin with, computers just calculate the formula and don’t judge things whether is correct or not by using common sense or experience. They don’t have the emotions and common senses that humans have and use them as one of the reliable judging criteria. For example, some retailers expect AI to forecast demand, but it sometimes answers weirdly and the precision is too bad because there are a lot of unconsidered factors like human emotions. Basically, systems process statistics by using past data, even if humans can judge it’s wrong by using their experience. although It’s effective to automate routine jobs, fluctuating and unknown situations won’t be suitable for companies to rely on automated functions without any anxiety. Moreover, these automatic functions can’t have responsibility for any results because individuals make decisions by using calculated answers. In most cases, clarifying who is responsible for accidents can be a difficult agenda. For instance, pilots determine how they fly and avoid bad weather conditions by referring to given data from AI. Even if the AI calculated wrong, pilots had to take responsibility for accidents because they decided to utilize the information and caused the accident. Although developers may be responsible for the defaults, decision-makers should judge which information is correct by themselves. To conclude, although advanced technology is developing at a tremendous speed, people can’t rely on them completely because of the responsibility of actions. People should utilize data as a reference and make decisions by themselves.