In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can art tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that in a world where scientific and technological advances are becoming more popular, people working in the art field, such as musicians, painters, and writers still gain a great deal of attention. In my opinion, I would contend that arts can show us certain things about life that we cannot learn through science and technology. Without a shadow of a doubt, there are abundant aspects of life that art can express instead of science and technology, especially pride. Music is a meaningful means for people to express their sense of pride in their country. For instance, when competing in international sports events such as the Olympics, World Cup, and Sea Games, to name a few, each team presents itself by singing its national anthem. This action demonstrates their national pride to other countries all over the world. Hence, pride is a cultural value which cannot be conveyed through technology and science. While national pride is widely acknowledged, feelings are worthy of mentioning. Art brings out real joy and adds meaning to our lives. In this day and age, people easily suffer from stress and have a wide range of negative thoughts. Paintings can help them heal their souls and express their emotions. For example, a person who is under high pressure can find a peaceful frame of mind while painting or engaging in an art exhibition. Thus, artworks are able to give us positive feelings, while technology and science cannot. In conclusion, there are various aspects of life that arts can impart to us as a substitute for science and technology.