Some people believe that nowadays too much money is being spent on weddings and birthdays. Why do you think it is happening? What can be done to improve the situation?

Every individual has the right to spend his money on whatever thing he pleases. Certain people are of the opinion that excess cash is being lavished on weddings and birthdays these days. There are factors which I believe are responsible for this. There are also ways of dealing with this situation; this essay will elaborate more on my views. Individuals spend a lot of money on birthdays and wedding celebrations due to certain reasons. First, most people value these two occasions extremely well. This may be due to the fact that these events mark the start of a new phase. As a result, a good number of humans will go all out just to make these occasions memorable. Second, some people feel the constant need to show off their wealth and these ceremonies serve as media for them. For instance, individuals in some parts of Nigeria now use wedding celebrations to rate how affluent the couple’s families are. Furthermore, research has shown that currently, there is surplus cash in the economy, making currencies to be readily available, and when there is abundance, people tend to be wasteful. On the other hand, despite the fact that nuptials and birthdays are cherished by most people, it should not call for unnecessary expenses because there are definitely more important things to sort out with money. In addition, there is absolutely no need to display how well-to-do a family or person is during these functions. The message just needs to be passed, and the moment celebrated moderately without having to break the bank. Finally, the government should set a limit on every bank account so as to mitigate multiple withdrawals, expenses and even loans. With this, human beings may not have the luxury of spending lavishly on the aforementioned events. In summary, I am of the opinion that certain individuals spend a lot on birthdays and weddings because they want these moments to be memorable. However, these events can be unforgettable without having to be extravagant.