In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about the problem?

Technology advancement has benefited many industries across the globe, and agriculture is one such industry. Despite the advancements, it is still seen that a substantial amount of people are unable to feed three meals a day. This essay will outline the reasons for the cause, followed by solutions. Although technology has assisted towards the development of agriculture sector, Industrialization has resulted with less land available for agricultural activities. Hence, affecting the supply of agriculture products, and has led to a food shortage. Secondly, due to the increase in carbon-dioxide emissions, there is an incline in global warming, which has been affecting the global weather patterns. As a result, there is a sharp decline in the average rainfall globally, which is negatively affecting the cultivation. Finally, incorrect agricultural policy decisions made by certain governments, had contributed towards food scarcity in their respective nation. For an Example:- The Sri-Lankan government made a policy decision, to use only organic fertilizer in their agricultural activities, instead of chemical fertilizer, which led to an island wide food shortage. In order to find a solution to this problem, it is necessary that all government’s come into an agreement to protect their own agricultural land, so that an increase in agribusiness can be seen. It can be done by creating appropriate laws, and imposing stringent penalties in individual's violating the law. Also, business should be encouraged to do green initiatives, and the government should reward them financially for it. This can be done through tax concessions. For an instance:- Singapore had implemented laws, to use only electric vehicles in their country from 2025 onwards, as an initiative to reduce the carbon-dioxide emission from its vehicle. In conclusion, it is important to remember, that prominence has to be given to safeguard the agribusiness. Therefore, suitable measures have to be put into effect as soon as possible. The survival of the human race is highly dependent on it, or else it will lead to an increase in the human death toll.