Some people think children nowadays have too much freedom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, young people are given more various opportunities and accessibilities to different settings than ever before. They are able to explore and develop strengths from a young age. In my opinion, I agree with the idea that children have too much freedom nowadays despite the heavy academic workload. Firstly, technological innovation has successfully steered us towards an optimal and convenient lifestyle. Younger people have faster access to advance educational resources for information to expand their knowledge. For instance, unlike in the past few decades, people may have to browse through physical books to satisfy learning requirements which can be monotonous and time-consuming. On the contrary, teenagers in recent times are provided with cutting-edge technology to increase productivity and efficiency. As a result, more time can be allocated for other activities, such as reading magazines, engaging in physical activities or travelling widely. Secondly, juveniles may spend more time on other activities under less parental supervision. In the modern world, adults are too busy with their professional and work setting to spare some moments to pay attention to their kids. For example, many parents are leading hectic lifestyles in order to earn more money to support their families. Due to the rising cost of living, they have to work hard to make ends meet. In the pursuit of money, they tend to forget that they have another role to play, which is to educate their children. Consequently, teenagers with poor self-discipline and self-resilience may have more free hours for playing without proper supervision from their adults. On the other hand, teenagers nowadays receive a lot of pressure from their counterparts at school as well as from academic stress. Children are expected to be outstanding in this competitive world and they might have to devote themselves to accomplishing academic success in order to secure a high-paying employment in the future. To illustrate, many of them sacrifice their leisure time to strengthen their knowledge of certain subjects at school for fear that a failure in a subject may have an adverse implication on their academic records. Therefore, every moment seems to be precious for them to make a sound preparation to enjoy a fruitful future. In a nutshell, I agree to a large extent that offspring nowadays have more freedom with the help of advanced technology and lack of supervision from their adults, although academic pressure may take up most of their free moment.