Many customs and traditional ways of behaviors are no longer relevant to the modern life and no worth keeping. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that many traditional customs and behaviours have been updated in the modern world and should be abandoned. However, I completely disagree with this point of view and believe those traditional customs deserve to be kept. The main reason why most traditional customs are worth keeping is that they are still useful in the modern world. While some traditional customs including unconditionally following policies made by the king have been replaced by the democratic political system, there are still quite some traditional customs that adapt well to modern society. For example, people in east asian countries are still used to shaking hands when they meet new friends or business partners, which has been followed for more than 1000 years and is still a great way to help quickly establish friendship or business cooperation. Consequently, those kinds of traditional customs should be kept. Another important reason for keeping certain traditional customs and behaviours is that they are essential records of human history. For instance, in the Western world, people celebrate Christmas and in many countries in East Asia and Southeast Asia such as China and Vietnam, people celebrate Lunar New Year, which gathers family members together and reminds people of the history of their ancestors. These traditional customs have built a bridge between modern civilization and ancient history, which is a priceless treasure in human beings’ history. Therefore, it is important to preserve some traditional customs. In conclusion, although some outdated traditional customs deserve to be abandoned in the modern world, I firmly believe that some traditional customs are vital parts of human history and are still applicable in modern society and thus should be kept.