Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic products have always caused harm to the environment. Despite the continuous environmental awareness, there is not much progress made by the responsible stakeholders to reduce impact. This essay will outline the damage plastic does to our planet, followed by solutions to reduce or eliminate it. Although environmental pressure groups exists, plastic pollution has led to a destruction of marine life. Dumping plastic products on the ocean has resulted in damaging the oceanic ecosystem, because it prevents the sunlight reaching depths of water, affecting Corals and Aquatic plants. Therefore, marine species will face a food shortage resulting in their death. On the other hand, when the species living in the sea consume those plastics, they will die as it is harmful for their body. Secondly, manufacturing plastic products in factories will lead to an increase in the greenhouse gases. Hence, the ozone layer will be damaged. This will lead to an entry of harmful cosmic rays from the sun, and will have a massive impact on the survival of living organisms. For an Example:- The latest United Nation’s Report has identified more than 100,000 species living in the sea as endangered, because of an incline in the death toll. This is a consequence of consuming plastic bags. In order to find a solution to this problem, it is necessary that all government’s come into an agreement, to reduce manufacturing plastic consumables in their country, and encourage sustainable initiatives. This can be done through financial incentives in the form of tax concessions given to businesses. Also, from the individual’s perspective they should move towards the usage of biodegradable plastic, so that demand for non-biodegradable plastic reduces. They should use alternative methods whenever possible to do their tasks. For an Instance:- Sri Lanka conducted a massive green project with the top ten companies, recreating the damaged corals by replanting them in the deep sea, so that it will help the survival of endangered species. In conclusion, it is important to remember that protecting the nature is a responsibility of human beings. Our routine tasks should be based on this fundamental, because if we continue polluting our surroundings, we are creating the extinction of all living organisms.