The arts,including music and theatre are considered to be important in the society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyle? Should the art be included in the school curriculum?

The significance of creative activities which comprises of the arts, music, theatre, painting and many others in any given society can not be over emphasized. In our contemporary life, the position of arts is still distinctly visible. There fore, the inclusion of these subjects in the school curriculum should be of paramount importance. Arts is a part of culture and culture is a way of life of a particular people or society. It’s impact on humans are numerous from creative thinking to appreciating the essence of nature which can be in form of sculptures, architectural designs, literature and many more. Further more, it helps in learning, most importantly, children are stimulated to learn in an enhancing environment with variety of colorful learning objects. In addition, music as a branch of this unique subject is “the food of soul ” as opined by Arthur Schopenhauer in 1818 from his book “The World as Will and Representation “. Just like our bodies need food and energy to thrive so do music acts as food for the soul, rejuvenating it, filling it with energy and vitality. Moreover, visiting the theatre or the cinema can help people to unwind, ease off tension thereby reducing stress and greatly improve mental health and emotional wellbeing. Although, some people in the society are skeptical about the marketability of arts graduates compared to those in Engineering, Medicine, Information technology and many more but it is a known fact that many people in the field of creative arts have made a niche for themselves. An example among many others is Professor Wole Soyinka, a winner of Noble prize in Literature is a Nigerian playwright, novelist, poet and essayist in the English language. Conclusively, since the arts is a part of culture of a given society which is the pride of the particular people and as much as students are encouraged to choose subjects/ courses they are passionate about, the importance and the benefits of creative arts should be explained to them too hence the inclusion of these unique subjects in the school curriculum to assist them make informed choices.