Music has always been and continues to be the universal language of mankind. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Music without boundaries” is a renowned phrase in high school English books in China, which clearly illustrates the importance and publicity of music worldwide. Although music has many limitations and imperfections in representing various cultures, I still firmly believe this is a powerful intermediate for information transmission among human beings. As everyone knows, the two most important components of music are lyrics and accompaniment, so language limitations and cultural differences violently impact the understanding of the emotion and meaning of a song. For example, one of the famous chinses songs written by Wowkei Zhang with the word “nage” as a lyric, which means “that” in English, but its pronunciation is similar to “nigger”, undoubtedly promoting a strong reaction among the black communities. In addition, rap, as a musical form of hip-hop culture, is widely spreading in North America, but they were mistakenly considered as an example of violence and crime in China about 20 years ago. Nevertheless, these misunderstandings will not be obstacles to the cultural exchange and communication between nations. The majority of music composition always has a profound cultural foundation to support the value of artist and literature, which means music is the best medium for culture exchange, allowing the public to appreciate and taste different cultures through their musical traditions and styles. Furthermore, despite the prejudice and misreadings of typical music forms, it is common to notice the unique ability of music to evoke and express a blend of emotions and significance. This is the reason why all kinds of music can gain popularity globally and overtake the restriction of language to become the strongest bond between different ethnic groups in the world. In conclusion, the supernatural power of music for emotional expression and information exchange, including cultural landscape, political value, and historical significance, makes it a universal language that bridges the gap between language and background in human society.