Nowadays, people always throw old things away and buy new things, whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects does the phenomenon lead to?

In recent years, most people tend to purchase new items but throw old things away, while repairing and using something old were very popular in the past. Although there are many feasible reasons for this trend, these sequences could be brought about. There are two underlying reasons why the masses have a tendency for buying something new and throw out something old these days. First and foremost, each individual has a sense of luck and removes the black mood. For example, in Vietnam, when it comes to the Tet holiday, each family always cleans their house and throws old stuff away like clothes, shoes, utensils, and so on, to welcome new stuff in the next new year. Another driving factor is that many people cannot afford to allocate a huge amount of money to purchase new things. Taking Vietnam as an instance, a new house costs one million dollars as compared to the spending of repairing an old house approximately some hundred thousand dollars. I would contend that the growing trend is going to have serious repercussions not only for the family but also for society. Regarding the former, spending the bulk of money on buying things new is a very waste for each family. Besides, the value of cultural tradition will be lost by replacing antique things with modern ones, such as medieval interior facilities in Chinese style. With respect to the latter, repairing an old house is not enough safe to stay in because it can be broken anytime. Furthermore, it could be affected by the household surrounding because run-down houses need to be displaced into new ones. In conclusion, this trend is caused by many justifiable reasons, and I am convinced that this phenomenon has a number of negative implications for the family and society.