Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to the vital objectives of a country. While it is widely thought that economic progress is the most crucial target of many governments, others believe that other areas of development also play a key role in a nation. I am going to discuss these opposing points of view. From my perspective, more fields should be invested in a nation. On the one hand, it is certainly true that economic growth is necessary. The main reason is that it can lead to increased job opportunities, high wages, and improved standards of living for citizens. For instance, the U.S. - one of the strongest countries in the world, which is extremely popular with modern society and well-paid workers. Another reason is that it is also beneficial for governments to have greater tax revenues. For example, the average tax rate of a normal worker was about 24,8% in 2022, and this is not a humble number compared to other countries. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that education, military, and healthcare are equally significant as the economy. People often have this opinion because skilled workforces, life expectancies and security are essential priorities for a well-developed country. A particularly good example here is Norway, which has ranked in the top 10 of the world’s happiest countries thanks to its extremely high quality of life in terms of education, and healthcare, … according to U.S. News. In conclusion, it is commonly thought that economic progress is a pressing intention of many authorities; meanwhile, others assume that other fields should have adequate significance. Personally, I tend to believe that areas other than economics are also vital for human beings and should be given appropriate attention and investment.