Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, an increasing number of unwell individuals are adopting the use of alternative medicines and therapies rather than consulting their health specialists. In my opinion, I believe that this development has both positive and negative sides. On the one hand, alternative medicines can make patients more comfortable. A good example of this is using herbs to cure back pain as these re-harmonize your body without causing any side effects like traditional medicines. Moreover, it is widely acknowledged that herbs relieve anxiety during treatment, which increases your sense of well-being and calms your emotions. The same can be true when it comes to alternative therapies. To illustrate, acupuncture stimulates the central nervous system and triggers the release of chemicals into the spinal cord and brain. These chemicals then alter the experience of pain which promotes a sense of health, particularly in treating backache. On the other hand, this tendency also brings a drawback. To be more specific, non-mainstream medical treatments are not useful in emergency cases. While conventional treatments are developed to take effect fast, non-conventional medical treatments take time to work. For instance, those who require tumour removal cannot either drink herbs or delay surgery in hopes that they will recover quickly. Instead, they have to seek medical practitioners who possess the professional knowledge to perform surgical procedures, which plays a pivotal role in saving their lives. In conclusion, both the developments have upsides and downsides for individuals who suffer from various diseases as well as health deterioration.