In many countries today, both men and women need to work full time. Therefore, some people think men and women should share household task equally (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

t is often argued that duties for housework are equally distributed to parents as most households are dual-income these days, such as child care, and scratch cooking. In my perspective, it seems convincing since gender equality plays a crucial role among family members. To begin with those in opposition to a fair distribution of household task claim that family roles are determined according to their sexual status. Firstly, many oriental countries have a biased society where men are in dominant positions compared to women. These patriarchal characteristics require especially mothers as responsible for doing most housework, no matter how hard they support their family financially as a breadwinner. Whilst fathers should concern about matters outside of the families. Moreover, these currents can be attributed towards a rampant machoism-oriented society for a long historical time and thus the public is fixed on such stereotypes of males and females’ roles in each household. On the other hand, there are some persuasive reasons to support why all given household tasks should be handled by both parents. First of all, we need to rewind back to the historical moments, there was severer discrimination against female members and a great number of feminists fought for the right of their gender equality. Thus, this revolution finally resulted in legislation of sexual discrimination laws. In addition, both men and women contribute their financial burden to their families and they are exhausted after finishing working. In other words, they both are deserved to take a rest at home so that housework including cleaning, and child-minding should be shared fairly between them. In conclusion, housework should fairly be measured for men and women as they work full time. Hanse, equal distribution of household duties must take into consideration at a national level.