In this day and age, novel technology is adopted in educating large numbers of students rather than merely lecturing. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

In this day and age, technology has contributed to the change of the interaction between people. While this trend may bring some potential drawbacks, I would argue that they are eclipsed by such significant benefits. On the one hand, there are several justifications why the development of technologies is undesirable for social connection. To begin with, due to online anonymity, people have a tendency to behave aggressively and rudely to other individuals. This is maybe because people are likely to think that nobody knows who they are, and this kind of thought can induce the notion of acting badly accordingly. Therefore, it is necessary that there must be strict regulations for those who access the internet. Secondly, in a real-life interaction, modern devices ranging from laptops to smartphones can be a key distraction. By way of illustration, there was a study from Oxford university that recorded the amount of information that people could recall after using a smartphone to update news and having conversation simultaneously. And it has proved the point that people lose their concentration on the conversations with an average proportion at just 47% of information remembered. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned disadvantages are at the expense of greater merits. The principal one is that the available connection regardless of distance. With the advances of technology, people are now able to send messages, or even conduct a video call via online apps wherever they are. Another remarkable benefit is the capability of making new friends globally. As a result, teenagers who get used to international interaction through the internet tend to be more active and confident when it comes to such big events that require language skills or soft skills. In conclusion, while technologies may have some negative aspects, I believe they are outweighed by the more substantial advantages.