In some countries young people are entitled to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

A year is encouraged by some nations for their high school leavers to gather employment experience or relocate to another place. The merits and demerits of this venture shall be discussed in this essay. To begin with, allowing youngsters to work or travel after the completion of their secondary education opens up opportunities to gather job experience which will help them in the future. Also, they will know the value of money since they are now working and have to depend on their allowance. Learning how to save and manage their resources will become part of them. Furthermore, meeting new friends and learning their cultures which allow them to appreciate other people's way of life is another positive side to this. However, there are some grey areas that are attached to this. Firstly, young people who keyed into this will definitely lose a year. Secondly, some of them might not return to college because they have started making money which can affect them in future For example when they start to have families the money might not be sufficient for the additional expenses. Lastly, these scholars may lose contact with old friends they had been together for a long time before the gap year. In conclusion, working or travelling immediately after completing high school should not be discouraged because it helps young people to gain experience while it should not be encouraged because it can lead to dropping out of college hence adequate education should be given to those concerned so that they can make informed choices.