Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue over which type of classroom, either single or mixed gender, has more benefits. Although both types have their own advantages and disadvantages, I believe mixed school offers more benefits. On the one hand, the mixed-gender school provides exposure to diversity which is beneficial for adult life. Both man and women have their own strengths and weaknesses, they can learn from each other from studying under the same roof. We will inevitably come across people from different walks and sex in our social and business dealings. Growing up in a mix of women's and men's classrooms empowers people with the confidence in communicating with the opposite sex in the real world, otherwise, they may probably feel intimidated and uneasy. In addition, the world is actively promoting the gender equality movement and mixed-gender classroom is a way of supporting this movement. By making sure equal treatment to both male and female students, the young generation will accept and believe in the importance of gender equality. On the other hand, the separate-gender school has some benefits. It is less likely to have distractions as the students are surrounded by same-sex peers. In contrast, students from mixed schools tend to have sexual problems when they are supposed to give a complete focus on their studies. Another reason why some prefer single classrooms is that teaching styles can adapt learning needs of each sex group. For example, girls tend to be more exceptional and interested in art and language and the education authority can dedicate investment to sharpen those skills. To conclude, although a single classroom has its own limited benefit, I personally believe the advantages of a mixed school outweigh that of a separate school due it its ability to offer diversity and equip with necessary communication skills that are essential in surviving in real life.