The world’s air pollution levels are rising year on year. What are the most pressing causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

Increasing levels of airborne pollutants have proved to be a major obstacle for humanity in the 21st century. This trend is predominantly caused by consumption patterns associated with rising global affluence, namely the increasing demand growing economies have for fossil fuels. These triggers and the effects rising rates of atmospheric pollution have on the planet will be examined in this essay. Most experts agree that airborne pollution is caused by the burning of fossil fuels, and that growing economies around the world make it possible for increasingly large numbers of people to contribute to current global pollution levels. For example, the affluence of more than two billion people between India and China has been rising for decades, and with this has come a spike in the number of pollution causing vehicles on the planet. As this phenomenon compounds with the tremendous amount of pollution already coming out of many western countries, a recipe for unshrinking levels of air pollution can be seen. Thus, demand for petrol vehicles among developing economies and resource wastage among developed economies can be concluded as today’s greatest causes of airborne pollutants. Although damage caused by air pollution ramifies itself in many distressing ways, I feel the impact it has on human health is a top concern. For instance, it is estimated that a larger percentage of children have asthma today than ever before in human history. To make matters worse, scientists are now finding air pollution can cause abnormal foodstuffs growth among farming populations the world over, and con- sumption of these foods has been linked to cancer. Because these problems will have an impact on generations to come, it is clear why human health concerns are the most pressing effects of airborne pollutants. Following this look, unfortunate growth trends in countries around the world are at the root of swelling numbers of asthma and cancer sufferers. These are considered to be the most significant causes and effects of the planet’s air pollution levels. Thus, controlling byproducts of human activity has to become central to humanity’s collective strategy for the 21st century.