Some people argue that technological inventions, such as mobile phones, are making people socially less interactive. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, some schools of thought argue that some individuals are becoming awful at socializing because of their mobile devices. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this argument because some population live sedentary lifestyles and become addicted to their mobile handsets instead of regularly meeting physically with friends and family. Firstly, families have become over-reliant on their mobiles for basic activities such as visiting a supermarket. Moreover, these days, devices are pre-installed with different applications for online shopping and sharing information with friends and colleagues. This has made the public over-dependent on these gadgets to access online shops for groceries and other home utilities. As a result, they seldom go out for any meaningful interaction since they can shop online from their homes. Furthermore, there’s an increasing addiction to these hand phones for chatting and official communication. Consequently, it has become so bad that even in public gatherings, folks resort to sending messages via their mobile device to their contacts in the same room. Also, because it is easier to have a video call with friends and family, they have abandoned physical visits. Because of this addiction, many cannot hold long conversations without glancing down to check their phone notifications at intervals. To curb this menace, many restaurants have begun to ban the use of mobile handsets in their lounges as a way to encourage more healthy social interactions. In conclusion, mobiles have affected many societies' ability to socialize effectively, thus leading them to become addicted and live sedentary lifestyles. New handphones should have pre-installed applications that can shut down for some time. Thus, helping many control how often they stay on their handsets.