Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important enviromental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinions.

It is commonly believed that the major environmental problem right now is the destruction and loss of flora and fauna. However, some people believe, including myself, that other environmental problems like pollution and climate change are more serious for humanity and our planet. Initially, there is a feasible environmental danger, including the loss of plants and animals that affect the balance of biodiversity. The loss of particular species can cause a ripple effect, leading to the extinction of other species. To exemplify, plants are the primary producers, converting sunlight into energy through photosynthesis; herbivores then consume these plants, and carnivores consume herbivores. Once the food chain is damaged because of the extinction of certain organisms, this ultimately disrupts the ecosystem. Moreover, many species of plants and animals are unique and irreplaceable. If they become extinct, this finally leads to the destruction of the overall health of nature and our planet. Looking from a different perspective, climate change and pollution, including air and water, are more serious for nature, let alone humanity. Over the years, climate change is causing significant environmental problems all over the world. For example, the major issue is melting ice and rising sea levels, which have severe weather events. This is a global phenomenon that leads to irreparable and harmful effects on every living organism and natural ecosystem. Additionally, air and water pollution are other serious issues that affect the health of humans. This brings fatal diseases which cause cancer and respiratory problems among people. Therefore, polluted ecosystems are a major and harmful issue for the population. In summary, although the loss of animals and plants is claimed serious issue for biodiversity, there are more serious and fatal risks for humanity that have a potential impact on the destruction of our globe.