Research shows more and more business training and business meeting take place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Among all the changes brought about by the internet, perhaps the most profound and controversial one should be the way people work today. Face-to-face interactions in business are increasingly being replaced by teleconferencing, and I believe this could generate more advantages than disadvantages. Online commerce increases employees’ satisfaction with their job by offering convenience to them. Namely, employees could have more flexible timetables and are not restricted by fixed shifts that require them to commute during rush hours. Moreover, with the time saved from commuting, they could be more productive while fulfilling their duties. Consequently, companies could increase their retention rate, sparing themselves the trouble of constantly recruiting and training. Besides, more companies also take the initiative to offer telecommuting opportunities because this could help them save large amounts of fixed costs spent on houses and administrations. Although criticism that employees would feel disconnected might be true, they are easy solutions to this problem that are much more economical than sitting all workers in place at the same time. For example, team activities could be arranged regularly for co-workers to bond with each other. In addition, the online business provides companies with a wider reach for potential customers. For instance, farm produce from local remote areas could be promoted and sold nationwide with the help of the Internet. What’s more, online meeting also encourages international trade, helping with much of the first-phase preparations even if offline negotiations is inevitable in such processes. In other words, it might not be the determinant of success, but its value remains indispensable. In conclusion, business meetings and training online bring more advantages with only minor disadvantages that could be solved with ease.