Some people say that the extened family is not as important as it once was. Others think that its worth has not changed because people always need help from their family members. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Over the past few decades, culture and family beliefs have evolved, and people now practice it differently unlike before. For instance, the roles of the extended family are now a debate that many seek answers to. Some think that it is no longer important while others are still in support. However, I believe that family positions and lineages form the cultural architecture that can never be disregarded in society. To begin, for many reasons, a lot of individuals see no reason why some communities still regard second-degree relatives. The most important is that the nuclear family is the most relevant unit of a culture and giving relevance to uncles and aunties is utterly unnecessary. Especially, now in the era of inter-border migration, several family units are scattered abroad for decades without any physical connection with their distant relatives. For instance, in the case of mass emigration being experienced in Africa. So, if they could live successfully without their extended family, then its importance should be downplayed. However, a few others claim that nuclear homes are not enough, and family roots, extensions, beliefs and practices cannot be eradicated. Especially within some cultures in the world for example in South Africa where a lady cannot marry without the approval of the father's siblings, and also, in many occasions, people need help from their family members. In view of these, complex family structures have proven to be as important as the first-degree kins. Meanwhile, I agree completely with the view in support of the extended family. Therefore, I would suggest that the history and social importance of this should be included in the school curriculum so that people will be able to acknowledge their background without any sentiment. In conclusion, both the small and complex family units are important and none are less useful to society, rather they should be encouraged and embraced.