In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people assert that local authorities ought to invest an immense sum of money in modern railway systems, while others are convinced that it is more fruitful to spend this money on the evolvement of subsisting public transport systems. I truly believe that governments should enhance the construction of new train lines as it can have a dramatically positive effect on local areas` development. On the one hand, up-to-date railway lines enable society to preserve the environment since it is a flawlessly ecological means of transportation. In other words, the aforementioned type of transportation releases an extremely tiny amount of exhaust fumes, which does not exert any detrimental influence on nature. The prime example can be Japan, which possesses a national railway system with fast trains and poses a marginal threat to wildlife. On the other hand, in the latest century, people tend to economize in each sphere of their lives. Therefore, citizens will exploit existing public transport more than new trains, as it is considerably less pricey. Consequently, their behaviour is a profound motive for the modernization of this traveling system. For instance, the introduction of such trains in Mexico undeniably failed due to the fact that locals were not financially able to purchase such expensive tickets. In my opinion, officials should definitely budget for the construction of rail lines. This action will pronouncedly strengthen economic and trade connections between various cities and lead a country to long-term prosperity. In conclusion, any proper initiative dedicated to the transport system can enhance citizens` lives. Nevertheless, I hold the view that the creation of a developed and extended railway can be the most effective measure to implement.