I'm writing an IELTS Writing task 2 essay for this question: Some people think that newspapers are the best way to get news. However, others believe that they can get news better through another media platform. Discuss both views.

In modern societies, media platforms have emerged as a new source of information and are questioning the position of newspapers. While some still consider newspapers as the most effective method to acquire information, others claim that online newspapers are better alternatives. This essay will examine both sides of the debate and reach a conclusion. Proponents of newspapers as the best way to get news point to its rigorous editorial process. In order to publish a story, journalists must take several steps such as fact-checking, investigation, interview and peer reviews. Therefore, content in newspapers is often presented in a well-structured, logical manner, using well-supported arguments and evidence. However, others claim that other publishing platforms such as online newspapers are better because of their ability to instantly disseminate information to their audience. This opens up the possibility for everyone to be immediately updated with the latest news, particularly when an event is taking place. For example, during a live football match, in contrast to audiences of online channels who can update the live score and follow its progression as it is happening, newspaper readers can only read about it at least the following day, when the paper is edited, finished and distributed. In my opinion, media platforms such as online newspapers have all the advantages in terms of news distribution as compared with traditional newspapers. Although traditional publishers are often regarded as having a rigorous process, delivering trustworthiness, and providing informative and comprehensive coverage of news, these are not their exclusive traits in this modern world. For instance, the New York Times, The Guardians and a range of other prestigious traditional newspapers have digitally transformed their newspaper into their own website so online readers can conveniently enjoy articles of the same quality. In addition to the ability to simultaneously broadcast information, online newspapers completely outweigh traditional newspapers. In conclusion, it is true that traditional newspapers are highly appraised for their thorough process to provide well-written articles, whereas other media platforms such as internet-based services have the capability of instant distribution of their content to a wide range of online audiences. Nonetheless, in my opinion, online newspapers are the best outlet for acquiring news because they also possess the traits of traditional publishers.