Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as whole. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

It is an undebatable fact that nowadays, a lot of society includes vegetarianism as their healthy lifestyle. However, some of the choices to eat vegetarian may also depend on their traditions and religion. Therefore, the reason why people exclude meat and fish from their diet may also vary. In this essay, I will discuss the public’s thoughts and give my opinion. One of the reasons why some people choose to eat vegetarian is because of their religion— for example, Buddhism. In general, Buddhism prohibits eating all meat because killing animals violates the first moral percept. Many Buddhist believe in eating vegetarianism on the first day and fifteenth day of every lunar month to pay respect to Buddha and accumulate good karma. Not to mention the fact that some people decide to become vegetarian to eat healthy and lose weight. People who do not eat meat generally eat fewer calories and less fat. In addition, they have a lower risk of heart disease than non-vegetarians. On the other hand, some vegetarian diets may rely too heavily on processed foods, which are unsuitable for their health, such as plant-based ultra-processed food high in salt, added sugars, and fats. Moreover, choosing a vegetarian diet instead of one loaded with animal products can dramatically reduce the amount of land, water, and oil resources they consume and the amount of pollution they otherwise might cause. For example, our streams, rivers, and ocean pollution is mainly produced by animal waste, which can run into our waterways and harm the aquatic ecosystem. To conclude, being a vegetarian is a good idea as there are proven health and probably social and religious benefits. However, it only suits some, and I wonder whether it will be a versatile choice.